This is the "LinkSource" page of the "LinkSource" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LinkSource   Tags: linksource  

LinkSource quick start
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.snc.edu/linksource Print Guide RSS Updates

LinkSource Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is LinkSource?

LinkSource

  • is a quicker, more efficient way to find full text content.

  • is an OpenURL link resolver.

  • will lead you to full text content or interlibrary loan without ever having to leave your first point of access.

We have access to the full text content of tens of thousands of journals and newspapers.

LinkSource streamlines this content using OpenURL technology.

Additional Information

Be aware that in some cases you may also get the LinkSource Menu.

See the 'Additional Information' Tab!

How Do I Know It's LinkSource?

How Do I Recognize LinkSource?

In general we do NOT use the LinkSource phrase or LS logo, but examples one and two below...

1) Look for a small SNC icon as seen here... 

or

2) The phrase "Get Full Text @ SNC," with or without the above logo

or

3) The word, "LinkSource,"

or

4) The LinkSource LS icon. LinkSource Icon

the type of link can vary depending upon the database you are using... EBSCO, Google Scholar, Proquest. Some databases and vendors do not allow a lot of customization.

      
     

    LinkSource Basics

    LinkSource appears ONLY when there is no full text article matching that citation information within that particular database.


    LinkSource uses OpenURL technology giving it the ability to check all the databases to which the library subscribes. If the database you are using has a citation but no full-text, you can click the link/icon. LinkSource then cross-checks all databases to which the library has access to see if any of them have full-text availability for your article.


    When searching in any of the journal databases (Academic Search Complete, Humanities Full Text, Philosophers' Index, etc.) your search will produce typically some article records with a link to the actual full text or scan in that database, some with links to other databases (directly to other databases in EBSCOhost or to JSTOR) and some that do not have a link to the full text.  In the last instance, you will see a LinkSource link or icon, in most cases we use...

               Get Full text @ SNC and/or


    Clicking on the above phrase and/or icon will either lead you to the full text for the article in another database, bring you as close as possible to the full text in another database, or give you other options for possibly finding the full text, i.e., ordering through ILLiad and presenting you with the ILLiad Logon box.

    Questions?

    What If I Have Problems?

    • Remain Calm! Breathe!
    • Ask a librarian for help! Ask Rochelle for help!
    • Fill out error form and submit to Rochelle so she can fix the problem!


    Still Confused? Have Questions?

    See Kim or Rochelle!

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip