This is the "Home" page of the "eBook Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

eBook Collections   Tags: ebook, ebooks, electronic books  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.snc.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search our eBooks:

Access thousands of eBooks 24/7 by searching though our online catalog or the links listed below:      

eBook icon

 

American Founding Era Collection
"Rotunda's American Founding Era collection offers scholars and students at all levels an invaluable source of primary and secondary materials by some of the era's most enduring figures, including George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and Alexander Hamilton."

American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 and Series 2

American Verse Project
A collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.

Annual Reviews
Authoritative, analytic reviews;
SNC subscribes to: Biochemistry; Biophysics; Cell and Developmental Biology; Ecology, Evolution and Systematics; Genetics; Marine Science; Microbiology; Plant Biology; and Psychology.

BookPrep Beta
A service is designed to prepare scanned books for the Print on Demand (POD) market as well as for online consumption. There are thousands of books available for online reading free of charge.

Christian Classics Electronic Library  
Many historical texts of Christianity, arranged by author (also searchable), including the majority of the 38 volume Early Church Fathers.

      CHOICE E-Collection 
      A collection of e-books consisting exclusively of CHOICE-reviewed titles.
      Titles have been added to our catalog - just do a keyword search for  
      "CHOICE e-collection".

Credo Reference Provides full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Database includes:  dictionaries of legal materials, foreign languages, wine, art, computing, medicine; encyclopedias of many types; biographical materials like Who's Who, and much more.

EBSCO eBook collection (formerly Netlibrary)
Provides links to ebooks available to St. Norbert College library patrons. Some of these materials are in the public domain and others have been purchased by St. Norbert.

Encyclopedia of Inland Waters
Contains over 240 individual articles covering various broad topics including properties of water hydrologic cycles, surface and groundwater hydrology, hydrologic balance, lakes of the world, rivers of the world, light and heat in aquatic ecosystems, hydrodynamics and mixing in rivers, reservoirs, and lakes, biological integration among inland aquatic ecosystems, pollution and remediation, and conservation and management of inland aquatic ecosystems.

European Literature in Languages other than English  
This page lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English.

The Internet Classics Archive  
An award-winning, searchable collection of almost 400 classical Greek and Roman texts (in English translation) with user-provided commentary.

Internet Public Library Reading Room Online Texts  
Here you'll find over 4000 electronic texts, organized by title, author or Dewey Decimal categories—and searchable too!

GaleVirtual Reference Library
Free downloads available

Google Books
This service searches the full text of books that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.

Hathi Trust
A digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. 

Humanities E-Book
HEB's online, fully searchable collection currently offers subscribers access to approximately 3,700 high-quality titles in the humanities that have been recommended and reviewed by scholars. We expand our title list regularly and, in early July, added an additional 400 titles to our collection.

Internet Archive
A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, movies & music, as well as 150 billion archived web pages.

The Labyrinth  
The Labyrinth is a global information network providing free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University.

Online Books Page at CMU  
This site makes available for free, non-commercial use, a repository of over 3,000 English-language works, plus an extensive list of links to many other e-text collections.

Oxford Art Online
Now available through the Oxford Art Online gateway: Grove Art Online features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, timelines of world art, MoMA lesson plans, and links to ARTstor (for subscribers to this service) and Art Resource.  A Grove Art Online subscription now also includes access to the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Oxford Handbooks Online
3,190+ in-depth essays by the world's leading scholars in the areas of Business & Management, Political Science, Religion , Literature and Philosophy.

Oxford Islamic Studies Collection
Encompassing over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Past Masters Online - Campus Use Only -
Our subscription collection includes: Aristotle, Augustine, Nietzsche and Plato

Project Gutenberg
This services offers over 38,000 free, high quality ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. All ebook titles were previously published by bona fide publishers. They are digitized and diligently proofread them with the help of thousands of volunteers.


SciELO Books
A collection of quality peer-reviewed Open Access and commercial ebooks (spanish and portuguese) in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Public Health from selected Brazilian university presses and other academic publishers. The scope of the collection will grow to 500 titles in 2013 as university presses and academic publishers from other countries in Latin America and the Caribbean participate.

Shakespeare 
The Bard's complete works, listed chronologically, by category and alphabetically, plus the whole collection is searchable.

 

About eBooks:

eBooks, or electronic books, are digital versions of books, delivered online. The content of these books may have been born digitally or they may have been created in a print form and then digitized later. eBooks can give the user the ability to search and locate words or phrases within a text.

Due to the varied nature of their compilation, users may find that the access methods and accuracy of a resource can vary.

 

Downloading eBooks:

GALE Virtual Reference eBooks Free downloads available

EBSCO eBooks are downloadable to most devices. After first-time users create an account, they must download ebooks to their computer using Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher and then transfer the eBook by plugging your device into the USB port, click on the "Library View" icon in Adobe Digital Editions and then drag and drop the eBook to your device.

Digital 2.0
EBSCOhost now automatically displays a mobile version of the site when you are on a smartphone. The mobile interface allows you to search and read results as well as gives full access to search options and MyEBSCOhost folder items. In addition, you can download eBooks from the mobile interface. There’s also an easy way to switch between the mobile-optimized site and the full featured site.

For more information on EBSCO eBooks:
Frequently Asked Questions 

Still need help?

 

Help IconVisit the Information Desk
for research assistance.


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip