SPAN 365 (Professor Day)
This is the "SPAN 365 (Professor Day)" page of the "Spanish" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Spanish  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.snc.edu/spanish Print Guide RSS Updates

SPAN 365 (Professor Day) Print Page
  Search: 
 

Search Tools and Databases

  • HAPI (The Database of Latin American Journals)
    From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies
    The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
  • LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
    LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet, and according to research conducted in April 2010, there are over 113,000 inbound links to pages on LANIC from Web Sites around the world. Additionally, LANIC hosts large amounts of content from Latin America: as of April 2010, the Yahoo! search index contained almost 120,000 URLs from the LANIC Web site.
  • Latin American Open Archives Portal
    The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America. The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.
 

WorldCat Catalog

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>
 

Google for Latin America

   

      

 

Search Tips

It's important to evaluate all of your sources carefully, especially websites. See the handouts below for help.

 

Suggested Keywords

Topic 1: Clash of Cultures 

   Keywords: political organization, religious beliefs, social structure, values, labor organization, forms of productions, languages, historiography, indigenous culture or people, conquest, exploration, ethnic or religious conflict.

Topic 2: Colonial Governance

   Keywords: colonial governments, colonial function, colonization, monarchs,  empire, resistance, decolonization.

Topic 3: Catholic Church

   Keywords: religion, evangelizing, missions, conversion, religious beliefs or practices, rituals, land ownership and use, ethnography, historiography, Catholicism

Topic 4: Forced labor

   Keywords: la encomienda, el latifundismo, slavery, manual labor, cash crops, agriculture, plantation, migration, exploitation.

Topic 5: Role of Military

   Keywords:  civil power, military power, coup d'etat, dictators, revolutions, war, armed conflict.

Topic 6:  Artistic Achievement

   Keywords: architecture, music, painting, fiction, theatre, culture, genres

Topic 7: People/Nationhood

   Keywords: health, education, welfare, economic infrastructure, class inequality, poverty, wealth distribution, ethnic conflict.

Topic 8: 20th-Century Political Experiments

    Keywords: Marxism, privatization, socialism, nationalization, expropriation, militarism, internationalism, foreign influence, globalization. 

 

Zotero Tutorials

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip