Last Updated: Dec 16, 2013
- National Center for Health Statistics
Use to find a variety of current data on healthcare, nutrition, disease, life expectancy, and injury in the United States. Many reports contain select tables and raw data or users can click on the link, "FastStats," to find current information on specific topics.
- The National Survey of Families and Households
Survey conducted by the Center for Demography at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Data includes information on cohabitation, marriage, education, fertility, and employment. Three set of interviews were conduction from 1987-1988, 1992-1994, and 2001-2003.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
Organization funded by the U.S. Department of Health whose purpose is to collect, organize, and analyze data related to behavioral care in the United States.
- World Health Organization: Data Repository
Get detailed statistics on international heath issues, including data on healthcare access, disease, substance abuse, and mortality.
- World Values Survey
Global research project intended to measure changes in political and sociocultural values of different populations across the world. Surveys include data on changing attitudes towards racial and ethnic minorities, support for gender equality, beliefs about the role of religion in society, and support for democracy.
- Association of Religion Data Archives
Includes data from surveys on the social and cultural attitudes of different religious groups and denominations in the United States.
- General Social Survey
The general social survey conducts frequent surveys intended to track societal change in the United States and compare trends in the United States to other nations.
- Pew Center for Research
An independent, non-partisan research organization that publishes weekly surveys gauging public opinion of politics, the press, and other policy issues.
- Inter-univeristy Consortium for Political and Social Research
Part of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, this website provides access to raw data from various studies and surveys on many different social and political issues.
- American Fact Finder
Excellent and authoritative source for finding national and local information on demographics, housing, economics, and household characteristics. Data is based on the most current census report.
- 2010 U.S. Census Data
Find detailed data on the racial, ethnic, age and sex composition of local populations throughout the United States. Click on the Census briefs to get a concise overview of national demographic changes for specific racial and ethnic groups.
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Use to find current statistics and information on employment and wages in the United States, including occupation forecasts, unemployment rates, inflation and price indexes, as well as data on consumer expenditures and leisure time.
- Directory of U.S. Government Data and Statistics
Government portal that contains links to departmental websites with data related to a variety of social, political, and economic issues.
- Survey of Consumer Finances
Includes data from the triennial survey of U.S. families and other surveys conducted by the Federal Reserve Board. Topics covered include income, pensions, education, and other demographic trends.
Call Number: 519.536 K12r
Publication Date: 2001-03-08