Last Updated: Apr 3, 2017
ARTstor contains digital images, documents and data from many time periods and cultures from the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
- Art Full Text
Is a bibliographic database from H.W. Wilson that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage of 264 journals dating back to 1997. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Also included are: video and audio podcasts, dissertations and theses indexing.
- Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.
- Digital Librarian Images
Exhaustive sources for images on the web sorted by title of the site.
- Google Images
- Google Art Project Online museum tours.
- PIcsearch Search the web for images. An image search service with more than 3,000,000,000 pictures.
- Incogna Incogna is an image search engine that organizes its images by content; when you click on an image, it will find similar looking images.
- Bing Images
- Retrievr Beta site that allows searches by drawn or uploaded images.
- Getty Search Gateway 4,600 high-resolution images of the Museum’s collection
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
- Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Catalog
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Bridgeman Art Culture History
With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, we represent international museums, galleries and artists by providing a central source of fine art for image users
- Art Resource
Art Resource is the world's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than 500,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources, available for licensing to all media.
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- British Museum Images
British Museum Images is the on-line digital image website of the British Museum catering primarily for the image-buying professional. It offers access to rights-managed images of objects held in the British Museum's collection. One can search, buy, license and download hi-resolution (300dpi, JPG) digital images for use in publishing, TV, merchandising and advertising on-line. Access to download low-resolution (72dpi, JPG) un-watermarked images for layout purposes at no extra cost. The British Museum do not supply images on transparency or print format for commercial use, only digital files.
- Tate Museum
The Tate Museums hold the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art. The collection includes nearly 70,000 artworks by over 3,000 artists and grows every year.
You can also access nearly 2,500 artworks by Joseph Mallord William Turner from other collections. Together with Tate's own holdings, these form the most comprehensive online catalogue of Turner's work.
Smarthistory at Khan Academy is the leading open educational resource for art history and offers nearly 500 videos.