HUMA 422 (Lewis)History 118 (Prof. Tashjian)
This is the "HUMA 422 (Lewis)" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Last Updated: Aug 31, 2016 URL: http://libguides.snc.edu/history2 Print Guide RSS Updates

HUMA 422 (Lewis) Print Page
  Search: 
 

Census Records

  • Brown County Public Library: Local History and Genealogy
    Access to top quality genealogy websites (many of which include census records and slave schedules) through the Brown County Library. Note: You may need a library card to access some databases.
  • 1850 Slave Schedule via FamilySearch.org
    Name index and images of slave schedules listing slave owners and only age, gender and color data of the slaves in census states or territories in 1850. This was the first time that slave information was captured as a separate schedule. Indexed data and browse are available for the following: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Slave schedules are not available for other states.
  • Census Online
    Census Online has grown from 25 links to nearly 40,000 and serves as the internet's primary starting point for locating online census transcriptions.
  • Notable Kentucky African Americans Database
    The main focus of the NKAA Database is to provide information about African Americans in and from Kentucky. It is a free electronic collection of data about people, places, and events in Kentucky, along with details that reveal the extent of their influence well beyond the state border.
  • USGenWeb Archives
    The USGenWeb Digital Library (USGenWeb Archives) was developed to present actual transcriptions of public domain records on the Internet. Use the state indexes to find records for specific counties.
  • Lexington Public Library: Genealogy & Local History
    Lexington Public Library's Genealogy and Local History Collection provides access to fully digitized public records including obituaries, death records, and select newspapers. Some resources require the ability to register for a library card to be accessed. If a password is required, please contact a librarian or the Document Delivery Specialist at the Mulva Library to see if access or a print copy can be acquired.

Digital Collections

  • Kentucky Digital Library
    Provides access to digitized materials related to the history and culture of Kentucky, including books, articles, maps, newspapers, oral histories, and more. Full-text searching and browsing options available.
  • John Winston Coleman Jr. on Slavery in Kentucky, 1780-1940
    The John Winston Coleman, Jr. collection on slavery in Kentucky, 1780-1940 is comprised of manuscript materials (1780-1940) and photographs gathered by John Winston Coleman, Jr. (1898-1983) while conducting research for his book Slavery Times in Kentucky (1940).
  • Documenting the American South
    Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
  • Digital Library on American Slavery
    The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface.

Databases

  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
    This newspaper database contains digital images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
  • Slave Rebellion Database
    The Slave Rebellion Website includes the slavery database, which contains the complete slave population records on slavery from earliest times to the Civil War and beyond slavery. The population data is broken down by state, county, and district and includes such categories as free and enslaved population along with white and other populations in a given area. This site also provides a comprehensive collection of primary sources; consolidating and cataloguing them in a centralized and accessible electronic database for scholars for the first time.
  • Black Abolitionist Archive
    The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period. These important documents provide a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement; scans of these documents are provided as images and PDF files.

General Resources

 

Subject Headings for Finding Books

Bibb, Henry -- b. 1815

Slavery -- Kentucky 

Plantation life -- Kentucky -- History -- 19th century

Slaves -- Kentucky  -- Public Opinion

Underground Railroad -- Kentucky

Slave Traders -- Kentucky

Fugitive Slaves -- United States

African american abolitionists -- Biography

 

Books at SNC

Cover Art
Slaves in the Family - Robert Edward Ball
Call Number: 975.7915 B21s
ISBN: 0374265828
Publication Date: 1998-01-01

Cover Art
The Half Has Never Been Told - Edward E. Baptist
Call Number: 306.3620973 B22h
ISBN: 9780465002962
Publication Date: 2014-09-09

Cover Art
From Midnight to Dawn - Jacqueline Tobin; Hettie Jones
Call Number: 973.7115 T55f
ISBN: 038551431X
Publication Date: 2007-01-16

Cover Art
Front Line of Freedom - Keith P. Griffler
Call Number: 973.7115 G87f
ISBN: 0813122988
Publication Date: 2004-03-12

Cover Art
Beyond the River - Ann Hagedorn
Call Number: 973.7115 H12b
ISBN: 0684870665
Publication Date: 2004-02-06

Cover Art
Bound for Canaan - Fergus M. Bordewich
Call Number: 973.7115 B64b
ISBN: 0060524308
Publication Date: 2005-03-29

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip