Last Updated: Aug 31, 2016
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Use to find full-text images of hundreds of U.S. newspapers published in the nineteenth century. Researches can search by keyword or titles of specific publications.
- Chronicling America
Website, hosted and maintained byt the Library of Congress, the provides access to a variety of fully digitized versions of U.S. newspapers from 1836-1922.
- St. Norbert Archives and Special Collections
The Office of Archives and Special Collections of St. Norbert College is located in Room 206 of the Mulva Library. The archives of St. Norbert College consist of materials documenting the history of the College. The City of De Pere and the Norbertine Order maintain their own special collections. The archives collection consists of print materials such as books, magazines, newspapers, yearbooks, manuscripts, letters and business and personal records.
- Wisconsin Historical Society
The main repository for documents and other sources related to Wisconsin state history. Users can search the contents of many collections online.
- UW-Green Bay Archives and Area Research Center
Located on the 7th floor of the Cofrin Library at the University of Wisconsin, Green Bay, this department contains many records related to the history of Green Bay and genealogy. Collections include citizenship records, court records, census data, and school records.
- Local History and Genealogy Department, Brown County Library
Local history collection at the central branch of the Brown County Library. Contains over 10,000 volumes of books, atlases, maps, and periodicals related to the history of northeast Wisconsin. Census reports, newspapers, and county histories are available via microfilm.
- Archdiocese of Green Bay Archives
Use to find research materials related to the history of the local Catholic parishes, Collections include a variety of sacramental records and books on Scripture, theology, and history.
- Brown County Historical Society
Local organization dedicated to the preservation of local historical artifacts and educational outreach. An excellent source for getting further ideas on finding materials for local history projects.
- De Pere Historical Society
Official historical society of De Pere. Contains many unique sources documenting the history of the city from its founding to the present.
- Archives Unbound
Archives Unbound includes a variety of collections that contain primary sources on a variety of topics, including The Civil War, Literature and Culture during the Great Depression, Federal Surveillance of African Americans from 1920-1984, and anti-war protests during Vietnam War.
- American Memory Project
Library of Congress collection that provides free and open access to thousands of documents, speeches, recordings, maps, and images that document the American experience from the period of settlement to the present.
- History Matters
Website that provides access to thousands of full-text versions of primary documents of texts, images, and audio recordings as well as tools for helping student analyze primary sources.
- Digital History
Digital repository that contains concise overviews of many topics related to U.S. history and access to a select body of primary source materials and teaching tools.
- Smithsonian Source
Provides brief excerpts from different primary sources related to a variety of topics in U.S. history.
- Making of America
A digital of library, developed and maintained by University of Michigan and Cornell University, the provides access to a variety of documents, books, and journals, related to the social history of the United States from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- American Founding Era Collection
Online collection that provides access to correspondences between a variety of key figures from Founding Era of U.S. History.
- The National Security Archive
An online archive containing declassified records related to U.S. national security, foreign policy, and diplomatic history. Click the "documents" link to browse documents by topic area.
- Latin American Open Archives Portal
Website organized and maintained by the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project. Provides access to difficult-to-find materials from "the deep Web," including working papers, statistical documents, and published reports.
- European History Primary Sources
Provides a searchable index to various scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources related to the study of European history.
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Source book provides online access to many key primary sources on a variety of topics related to modern European History. Users can browse documents by topic.
- Internet African History Sourcebook
Contains several primary source documents and web-based materials related to a variety of topics in ancient and modern African history. Resources are organized both chronologically and by subject area.
- Africa: South of the Sahara
Website providing access to online resources focused on the history and culture of sub-Saharan Africa.