Find general resources for a variety of topics related to the political sciences.
Last Updated: Feb 9, 2016
- International Monetary Fund (Data and Statistics)
Provides access to a variety of global data related to finance, debt, employment, and international trade. See "Manuals and Guides" for help interpreting different data.
- World Bank Data
Use to find international data on a variety of topics, including external debt, education, healthcare, poverty, gender, and social development. Data can be searched by country or topic.
- CIA World Factbook
An excellent site for finding quick facts and data for different nations across the globe. Contains information related to different nation's population, government, economy, military, and geography.
- World Health Organization
Get detailed statistics on international heath issues, including data on healthcare access, disease, substance abuse, and mortality.
- International Labor Organization, Department of Statistics
Find data on labor conditions and workplace issues across the globe. Topics include work conditions, gender equality, employment discrimination, poverty, and labor migration.
- United Nations Statistical Division
Use to find data on the economy, demographics, social trends, and the environment for different nations throughout the world.
- Federal Election Commission
The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Voting and Registration Data
"Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics."
- U.S. Election Assistance Commission: Research and Data
The EAC is responsible for collecting information about election administration issues and sharing that information with Congress, election officials and the public.
- Wisconsin Government Accountability Board
The Government Accountability Board produces statistics on voter turnout and the number of registered voters. Additionally, the G.A.B. produces reports of statistics prepared and reported by municipalities about elections, known as the GAB-190.
- American Fact Finder
Excellent and authoritative source for finding national and local information on demographics, housing, economics, and household characteristics. Data is based on the most current census report.
- 2010 U.S Census
Find detailed data on the racial, ethnic, age and sex composition of local populations throughout the United States. Click on the Census briefs to get a concise overview of national demographic changes for specific racial and ethnic groups.
- National Center for Health Statistics
Use to find a variety of current data on healthcare, nutrition, disease, life expectancy, and injury in the United States. Many reports contain select tables and raw data or users can click on the link, "FastStats," to find current information on specific topics.
- U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics
Use to find current statistics and information on employment and wages in the United States, including occupation forecasts, unemployment rates, inflation and price indexes, as well as data on consumer expenditures and leisure time.
- Office of Management and Budget (Historical Tables)
Find and access comparative data outlining historical trends in the national debt, including revenues and expenditures.
- Congressional Budget Office
Provides raw data and non-partisan analysis on a variety of budgetary and economic issues, including but not limited to agriculture, education, finance, healthcare, national security, immigration, and housing.
- Economic Census: Business and Industry
Contains detailed statistics on manufacturing, sales, trades, and other business dynamics for the U.S., states, counties, metropolitan areas, and cities.
- Pew Research Center
"The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues."
- Public Policy Polling
Public Policy Polling specializes in tracking public opinion on a variety of issues. Includes both national and state-level polling data.
- Survey USA
An independent, non-partisan polling agency that conducts research for a variety of government, agencies, trade organizations, and private companies. This organization specializes in "local and hyper-local" public opinion polls.
Well-known, independent research organization that provides data and analysis on a wide range of political, social, and economic issues, including elections, religious views, and cultural trends.
- American Research Group
Polling group that tracks public opinion on politics and the economy.
- St. Norbert College Strategic Research Institute
Institute at St. Norbert College that collects and analyzes data related to economic, business, and politics. The center is located on the 2nd floor of the Bemis International Center. For more information or to schedule an appointment, call (920)403-3247.